Skip to content

A Whole Hand!

March 10, 2012

God puts rainbows in the clouds so that each of us – in the dreariest and most dreaded moments – can see a possibility of hope. ~Maya Angelou

20120309-223210.jpg

My puzzle princess turns five tomorrow. In the midst of one of the most frightening and disheartening months of my life, my little princess, once again, gives me reason to smile.

She is the most sincere, caring and beautiful little girl you will ever meet. Despite her own challenges, she always has a smile to share and a hug to give. She eagerly offers a gentle squeeze of encouragement to her little sister, an eager audience for her big brother, and endless snuggles to her mom and dad.

20120309-223401.jpg

20120309-223516.jpg

20120309-223615.jpg

I just don’t know how five years happened so fast. The days are long and the years are short. I don’t know when it happened. When did she grow up from that sweet little baby into this amazingly caring and nurturing little girl?

I could wrap myself in despair over what is happening to her sister right now, but she just doesn’t let me. That smile, that daydreamy voice that constantly questions me, “why is the sky blue?” kinds of questions. Her innocence and her intelligence. She draws me out. She forces me to keep moving forward. She doesn’t know it, but I rely so much on her princess stories, and the way she flaps and rocks excitedly when we tell dragon and princess stories. Each of these little moments that forces me to smile, to laugh at the simplest pleasures of childhood is the glue that holds me together and keeps me strong for my family.

She is not just my princess. She is my rainbow. She is my hope.

Happy Birthday, Princess.

20120309-223837.jpg

20120309-223750.jpg

PS – I know I’ve used that quote before, but it’s a favorite. ❤

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

