Skip to content

Purpose

June 12, 2012

We can never judge the lives of others, because each person knows only their own pain and renunciation. It’s one thing to feel that you are on the right path, but it’s another to think that yours is the only path. ~ Paulo Coelho

The purpose of this blog is not to educate.

The purpose of this blog is not to make someone feel like a hero (or a villain) for helping my children (even though I really do see those that work with my children as angels in many ways).

The purpose of this blog is primarily for me to blow off steam. And with three kids in the spectrum, all under 8 years old, and a husband who is away quite often, I have quite a bit of steam to blow off.

This is where I come to connect with other moms, dads, teachers, or just anyone who gets it. I do not come here to talk to the people in my “real” world life, even though many of them read this as well, which is great.

I come here to hash things out, to work out the turbulent thoughts that race through my head during the day. I come here to pour out my fears and frustrations, and victories onto a page, so I can think clearly and be fully present for my children. I come here and share what I share in the hopes that one other person might say, “Me too,” or “that really sucks,” or “here’s what I tried,” or “I get it.”

I don’t publish this in a newspaper. I don’t print it out, stick it in a Hallmark card and mail it. I come here in the relative anonymity of the blogosphere because I don’t have time for a support group, so this is what I have. When the children are tucked in bed, and the house is quiet for a few minutes, this is where I go to maintain a small piece of sanity.

If you don’t like that, then don’t search for me and read it. Every word I write is the absolute truth as I see it when I write it. But I write it here for myself, and there it stays. Until you go searching for it and take offense to something that was never meant to be offensive.

I don’t always agree with the professionals that work with my children. But I do respect them, and appreciate the work that they do. If I didn’t, then I wouldn’t bother spending so very much time working with them, and fighting to keep them. If you don’t believe me, then perhaps you should talk to me about it.

Or just think about how much time I spend with therapists or fighting insurance companies to keep therapists.

Or, even more importantly, how much precious time with my children, I give up and entrust to you, with the belief and faith that it is worth it- that you are qualified and talented enough at your job to teach them what I cannot. And you have no idea how humbling that is.

For all the therapists and teachers that work with our children- you are not under appreciated – by any of us.

We give to you our most precious gifts, our children, and believe that you will do great things for them.

If we seem frazzled and tired and perhaps a little too grateful for that cup of lukewarm coffee we are able to sip while you work, please only take that as even one more sign of gratitude. Because at the end of your day, we still have to regroup and head back into the trenches.

So there might not be enough fanfare for your job, but please know that we do get it. We do appreciate it.

And please understand that sometimes, we really do need to blow off some steam on a page, so that we don’t blow up at our kids. And that is just the way some of us make it through the day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2012 2:18 am

    I know what you mean about blowing off steam. I started blogging to try and educate out of my own ignorance, not that of others. Over time, I just recount my experiences as a way to share what it is we do. The blogosphere is an amazingly supportive place where you never have to leave the chaos of your house to vent. It has been quite a “sanity preserver” for me and I just have the one. Whatever else happens, I do not want to lose my internet connection!! (Love the quote!)

    • June 12, 2012 11:18 am

      I know! I never thought I would become so dependent on a keypad and a bunch of folks I have never actually met in real life! Thanks for stopping by. I hope you are having a better day today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

