Skip to content

I Wish I Could Tell You

July 1, 2012

We are on vacation.

That is why I haven’t been writing.

I have so much I want to share.

I want to tell you about Troy and Joyce dancing in the wind on the ferry boat to Nantucket.

I want to tell you about the beautiful, happy, stimmy dance Mary has been doing at the beach, here in Martha’s Vineyard.

I want to tell you about the incredibly beautiful sunset we watched, over the beach.

I should tell you about the adventure of my ten year old dog meeting her very first skunk. 😉

I want to tell you about the bike rides, the long days at the beach, the nights out among crowds and in restaurants that have been carefully navigated and so far (knock on wood!) successful.

I want to tell you how very much I needed this break from routine at just this moment. It has been a serious amount of effort on my part to get the kids here (Daddy had to stay at home to work, so I’m flying solo, with some help from my parents), but at the same time how renewing and affirming it has been to see my kids here right now, just as they are.

I want to tell you how very far they have come since the last time we were here. Mary is walking on the beach.

I want to tell you how liberating it is to have Mary at the beach, no hearing aids, no glasses, no braces- just her, and nobody stares. Maybe that’s when I notice the stares the most – when nobody is staring for just once. But then I need to confess to you how guilty and selfish just having that thought makes me feel.

I want to tell you how beautiful it is here – not just because we are on an island, but because my children seem so much less guarded here – so peaceful and fulfilled.

I want to tell you so much, but it will have to wait. Because right now, we are on vacation, so I need to get to bed on time.

The beach is waiting.

20120630-222901.jpg

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2012 3:18 pm

    Beautiful post and awesome photo! So glad you are all having such a good vacation. The skunk and the dog? Uh-oh. 😉

    • July 1, 2012 10:18 pm

      We are having a great time, thanks! Yeah, needless to say, the skunk and dog are no longer friends! But I have learned some great remedies for washing skunk out of dog fur… 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Sunset – Vacation Part 2 « threepuzzlepieces

Leave a Reply

