Skip to content

Tipping Point

August 7, 2012

“The first week of August hangs at the very top of summer, the top of the live-long year, like the highest seat of a Ferris wheel when it pauses in its turning. The weeks that come before are only a climb from balmy spring, and those that follow a drop to the chill of autumn, but the first week of August is motionless, and hot. It is curiously silent, too, with blank white dawns and glaring noons, and sunsets smeared with too much color.”
~Natalie Babbitt, Tuck Everlasting

We just got back last night from another week on Martha’s Vineyard. Another week filled with beach and bike rides. Another week of real summer. And now I suddenly realize that school is set to start in a few very short weeks.

I spend too much of summer trying to adjust my children to their new summer routine (or lack-thereof). Now it is time to start preparing them for the jarring change of a new school year.

Where did summer go? It seems unfair. Summer should be at least six months long. They should have the lazy days at the beach and at the lake. They should have the unscheduled time to play in the pool in the back yard, on the swing set, or go camping. They should have that as much as they want. It’s healthy. It’s natural. So much of our summer seems to be taken up with therapy and doctors’ appointments. The scheduling, the calendar, the alarm clock – these things do not belong in summer, but still here they are….

The responsible part of me knows I should be adjusting their schedules now, to shift closer to the school year routine. The part of me that loves the warmth and the laziness just wants to pack them all back up again and flee to the beach. I guess afternoons at the local lake after therapy sessions will make for a proper compromise. 😉

Gonna out the world away for a minute
Pretend I don’t live in it
Sunshine gonna wash my blues away….

Wishin’ I was
Knee deep in the water somewhere
Got the blue sky breeze and it don’t seem fair.
Only worry in the world is the tide gonna reach my chair.

Sunrise, there’s a fire in the sky
Never been so happy,
Never felt so high
And I think I might have found me my own kind of paradise.
~Zac Brown Band

20120806-210521.jpg

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Life and Ink permalink
    August 7, 2012 1:54 am

    Soak in every moment of summer, they are indeed wonderful times. We always started readjusting to the school schedule one week prior, any sooner never seemed very effective. Don’t rush, it will soon be here and then, my gosh then, one day the back to school routine will be but a memory. I guess your post made me bittersweet as my youngest will be a senior in high school this year. My mom used to tell me the time when they are small will fly by, not that I ever doubted her, but my, it sure does. So, as I said before, soak in every moment of the lazy, hazy, lake-filled days of summer spent with your babies. 🙂

    • August 7, 2012 10:00 pm

      I like the one week before idea. 🙂 As I am writing this, I am sitting in the back porch watching my kids play in the pool. Soaking it up. 🙂 Thanks!

  2. August 7, 2012 3:00 am

    I adore the Natalie Babbitt quote. So true. Summer is the one season I regret seeing an end to each and every season, every year. And while we experience it at one speed (too fast) I know as a child it lasted a long time… Hope that is still true for our kids. 🙂

    • August 7, 2012 10:00 pm

      I hope so too. It’s definitely too short for me!

Leave a Reply

