Skip to content

A Pause

November 21, 2012

“Not what we say about our blessings, but how we use them, is the true measure of our thanksgiving.”
― W.T. Purkiser

I am not writing much. I have five pots on the stove and two turkeys in the brine. But I couldn’t let it pass without saying something.

This was my Grandmother’s favorite holiday. The one holiday when there are no gifts, just the gift of each other. I find myself missing her more and feeling even closer to her at the same time – especially this week.

I have so very much to be thankful for tonight. So, so much. It would take me all night to put it into words, but then I might be missing the whole point – the enjoyment of the gift that is here, right now, with me. So I will write more later. For now, I just want to wish each of you a wonderful and blessed holiday, whether your family is near or far, gathered around the table or a hospital bed, separated by distance or by Heaven’s gates. Blessings to each of you and your families this holiday. I am so grateful for the friendships I have found here with you.

20121121-184637.jpg

Happy Thanksgiving.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Life&Ink permalink
    November 22, 2012 12:05 am

    And to Erin, I wish you and your family the gift of wonderful time together.

  2. November 22, 2012 11:49 pm

    Did you brine your tofurkey too??? Happy Thanksgiving you guys!

    • November 23, 2012 1:07 am

      Lol, Sean. I don’t bother with tofurkey- just lots of side dishes. Tom and I had another cookoff with the turkeys (which is a little funny, since I don’t eat turkey, but of course
      I won. 😉 ) I brined both, and put my top secret herb butter on both. Then I roasted mine, he rotisseried his on the Weber. I think it’s pretty safe to say this vegetarian won again (though
      I didn’t taste either…) . 😉 Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

