Skip to content

This is Big….

December 11, 2012

Language is the only homeland.
― Czesław Miłosz

This is big.

This is HUGE.

I think it might be starting. Like for real. Really starting.

I think she is signing.

You get this, right? I mean you. You. Get. This.

My baby girl is communicating.

She is “expressing her wants and needs.”

It’s been two long years since I’ve seen her use anything beside the sign for “more” (essentially clapping her fingers together), or the ipad (which don’t get me wrong, has been a miracle in and of itself). But this

She is pointing to her mouth when she is hungry or thirsty. The sign for “food” or “eat.” She’s been doing this for two days.

Then, today, she slid her little hand down her throat – the sign for “hungry,” or slightly modified the sign for “thirsty.” And she has been doing it all afternoon.

And I know it might be fleeting. I know she might not do it tomorrow. That’s okay with me. I mean it. It’s finally okay. I can watch her do this today, without the twinge of panic and fear that has accompanied the few other times I have witnessed these glimpses of language. Because right now, my baby girl just told me, with her perfect little hands, that she would like a pretzel, and then she would also like a glass of milk. And that is breathtaking.

That perfect little school community we found for her. All of the amazing therapists working with her since she was a baby. The consistent, patient, loving, accepting encouragement. The prayers. The cheers. The love. Everything.

It has given us an affirmation.

It gave us This.

I have no words for this.

I am in awe.

20121211-174225.jpg
Happily eating the pretzel she asked me for.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2012 3:10 am

    AWESOME!!!!!

  2. December 12, 2012 3:18 am

    Tears. Happy tears for you! I do get this. And it is so awesome! An such a weird thing that when our kids make these breakthroughs, we stand with mouth open ourselves unable to communicate what we feel! This is the sweetest irony of all! So happy for you all! xoxo

  3. January 1, 2013 4:14 pm

    Thats fantastic!! I had the very same experience with my son last week. At the age of 10 and a half he traced his first letter! I just sat there completely dumbstruck!

Leave a Reply

