Skip to content

Grateful

May 29, 2013

“We can only be said to be alive in those moments when our hearts are conscious of our treasures.”
― Thornton Wilder

The doctor called today.

Finally.

The fancy test – the one that tests retinal degeneration – came back normal. There was a note of surprise and relief in the doctor’s voice. I’m sure it didn’t compare to the relief in my own.

We will continue to monitor her vision. She is not adjusting well to her new glasses. Neither of us is sure if that means her ability to focus is improving, or if her vision is continuing to worsen. But for now, the deafening alarms that were ringing in the back of my head have been muffled.

As for that visual bucket list – we will continue that too. If there is one thing that Mary has taught me and continues to teach me is that tomorrow is never guaranteed, but we have today. And today my baby girl can see her trees, her fish, her clouds, her rainbows, her fireflies. I don’t know about tomorrow, but tonight I am so grateful.

Tonight I am grateful for you, my friends here in this little corner of the blogosphere. When the gears start turning, and my mind races to dark places, it is here I can find you, and you will never know how grateful I am for that. So thank you. Thank you for your comments, your “likes” of support, and even for just stopping by. Thank you for your prayers. Thank you for just being here.

I’m off to my front porch swing with my husband to crack open a bottle of champagne. Because it’s Tuesday, my girl can see, and tomorrow is the last day of kindergarten, and Troy’s 9th birthday. We have much to celebrate and much to be grateful for.

Cheers!

20130528-213501.jpg

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2013 1:57 am

    It is great to hear everything came back normal from the test. Enjoy your night and keep up the great posts 🙂

  2. Life&Ink permalink
    May 29, 2013 3:33 am

    YAY! Drink away. Drink away. And by the way, we are awfully glad you are here too!!! 🙂

  3. May 29, 2013 3:26 pm

    Wild applause from this corner of the internets! HOORAY for “normal”! And you can tell her that there is at least one grown-up in this world who also does not adjust well to their glasses 😉 Never have, likely never will!

Leave a Reply

