Skip to content

One More Time

July 9, 2013
20130708-204901.jpg

Early Morning Ferry Ride

We’ve come back to my childhood home. Back to my parents’ house on Martha’s Vineyard. It’s not where I went to high school, but it is where I spent every weekend and every summer, as my parents (like many New Englanders) raced to their weekend getaway as fast as they could as soon as the workweek ended.

It is getting more crowded here. More crowded on the island, and more crowded in their house, as it struggles to contain all their grown children and now grandchildren. My parents are ready to retire, so they are trying to sell the old place. This might be our last time here.

My babies love it here. The beach. The laziness of no schedule. The freedom of joy with no expectations. The best parts of vacation. That’s not to say there aren’t challenges. There have been many. Maybe I’ll tell you about them later. Right now, I am relaxing with a glass of Cabernet on my parent’s couch, trying desperately to decide which beach to head to tomorrow……

Decisions, decisions…. 😉

Wrote a note said be back in a minute
Bought a boat and I sailed off in it
Don’t think anybody gonna miss me anyway

Mind on a permanent vacation
The ocean is my only medication
Wishing my condition ain’t ever gonna go away

Cause now I’m knee deep in the water somewhere
Got the blue sky breeze blowing wind through my hair
Only worry in the world is the tide gonna reach my chair
Sunrise there’s a fire in the sky

Never been so happy
Never felt so high
And I think I might have found me my own kind of paradise

This champagne shore washing over me
It’s a sweet sweet life living by the salty sea
One day you could be as lost as me
Change you’re geography
Maybe you might be
~Zac Brown Band

20130708-223744.jpg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Life&Ink permalink
    July 9, 2013 12:15 pm

    Oh yeah, there’s nothing like the water. Grew up in Fort Lauderdale, just 10 blocks from the sea, it gets in your blood. My brother, now a New Yorker, summers on Nantucket. Me, now an Alabamian goes to our lake place. Just need a water fix. You just keep on enjoying your summer problem of which beach to go to, ain’t no better problem to have! 🙂

  2. July 9, 2013 6:55 pm

    Sounds fabulous!! Enjoy your time there…

Leave a Reply

