Skip to content

A Change in Name

January 11, 2014

“What’s in a name? that which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet.”  
―    William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet 

I’ve been blogging here in this quiet space for a little while now. I am enormously grateful for the friends I have made here along the way. But I’ve been feeling for a while now that it is time for a change. A very small change, really.

When I first started here, I was very new to the autism community. I honestly had no idea how charged certain words could be. I am still learning. When I first started this blog, I was fresh off my third autism diagnosis in two years. I felt like I had been dropped into a foreign land on my own. I looked at symbols like puzzle pieces and blue lights as outstretched hands, as a general symbol of support. It looked so much to me like I had written here in my post Community,

In the early days of Christianity, believers wore a small symbol of a fish, as a sign to recognize each other. During the days of the Underground Railroad, houses that were sympathetic to the cause and willing to offer shelter to those on the journey would light a candle in their window.

That’s what the blue lights mean. That’s what the puzzle pieces are. It’s a sign that says to those of us on the journey, “I get it.” “Me too.” “You are welcome here.”

And I really believed that. I never felt that the puzzle piece was meant to represent an individual. And I thought three puzzle pieces, one for each of my children (because I grew up as one of three siblings, and everyone gets their own of whatever there is- sharing one between three of us? No, that didn’t work out too well. 😉 ).   To me, it sounded nice. It sounded welcoming.

But as I have come to know more people in this community, I have slowly discovered that the seemingly innocuous puzzle piece is a hot-button topic. And certainly, I want this space to be one that is welcoming to everyone. So, while I’m leaving the website address as it is (mainly because I’m not tech-savvy enough to change that and still have the grandparents be able to find us here), the name you will see at the top of the page has changed to the one thing that so enchants my littlest girl. To the thing that she has taught us to slow down and see, really see. The title has changed, but the rest is still us. So you will still find our little family right here in this same place, discovering new miracles every day. Thank you for joining us on this journey. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2014 1:45 am

    I like the name change and the photo!

Leave a Reply

